Inspiration / Personal Development

Two things you need to turn any dream into a reality

Do you dream about landing your ideal job? How about retiring to the Caribbean? Being the world’s best mom? What about becoming the next President of the United States (come on, ladies! It’s time.) I hope you do! Dreams can’t become reality without dreaming them to begin with. I’m a big dreamer. Since a very young age, I’ve been dreaming up things I want to experience, places I want to live, the career I want to have, among so many other things. So, how do you turn dreams into reality? Watch this clip.

Such great words of wisdom, right? This boy finally accomplished his dream and couldn’t wait to impart the lessons he learned to help others accomplish their dreams (which is a lesson in leadership all by itself.) He teaches us two things that are absolutely necessary to turning any dream into a reality.

1. Believe in yourself
Plain and simple. Believing in yourself is the foundation for making dreams a reality. Believing in yourself gives you confidence, self-esteem, motivation, determination, and so many other things. This sounds easy, but it can be so difficult. Self-doubt is very common among women and it often stops us from turning our dreams into reality. Know this – you are worth believing in, so believe in yourself. I was fortunate to be raised by wonderful parents who believed in me and taught me to believe in myself. However, that’s not the case for everyone. If you struggle with this, try spending some time reflecting on all of your positives characteristics. Really assess your strengths. This exercise will help you bring to mind all of the reasons you should believe in yourself and help you establish this essential foundation. You could also try to strategically use people in your life to help you boost your self-confidence. I use my husband for this! I talk to him about issues I’m having and doubts I’m experiencing. He’s quick to offer advice and remind me of the positive things to focus on. Sometimes I think he believes in me more than I believe in myself, but I think this is one of the biggest reasons why I continue to believe.

2. Just keep practicing
Again, plain and simple. Accomplishing your dreams isn’t easy, and you certainly won’t turn dreams into reality overnight. If you try and fail, you just keep on practicing! You are certainly learning with each attempt. Commitment and perseverance can be hard especially if you find yourself repeatedly discouraged (I know the feeling very well), but there are some things you can do to help you stay focused. Surround yourself with people who will encourage you along the way. When you start having thoughts about quitting, these people will be your cheerleaders at just the right moment. The image that comes to mind is when I ran my first 5k and I wanted to quit with only a short distance to go, and then all of a sudden I rounded a bend and there were hundreds of folks lined up clapping, yelling my name, and cheering me on to the finish line! It was just what I needed to finish the race. Surround yourself with people who can cheer you on in your most desperate moments! Also, consider sharing your dreams with a few people, and ask them to hold you accountable when you’re not making much progress. Sometimes we just need someone to “ride” us and make us practice when we really don’t want to.

The young boy in this video believed in himself and never quit practicing, and as a result, accomplished his dream of riding a bike. He perfectly summarized the feeling of turning dreams into reality when he proudly proclaimed, “I feel so happy with myself,” and rightfully so. Don’t you want to feel this way too? I know I certainly do. By adopting these two basic principles, you too can build the foundation for making any dream a reality!

Pink Collar community, what techniques or tips do you suggest for women who struggle with believing in themselves or who are discouraged from practicing? Share what helps you!

2 thoughts on “Two things you need to turn any dream into a reality

  1. so true I love the wisdom from such an innocent. I suggest acting as if you are strong and confident, as our little advisor stated keep practicing and pretty soon it will come naturally.

Leave a Reply

